Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 24th, 2024

AI Madness!

Just to be sure I looked up the meaning of the word “gaslighting”: “to manipulate (someone) using psychological methods into questioning their own sanity or powers of reasoning“. That definition makes the verb a lot stronger than what I had in mind ;-)

Anyway, here’s what I wanted you to look at: “Marta Peirano: Gaslighting AI” (at the conference (Un)real Data – Real Effects last February). This journalist is not the best storyteller, but the talk is worth listening to! She gives a series of examples of how AI can get derailed, including getting Grok to call Elon Musk “the Oprah of censorship”…

Screenshot of Marta Peirano talking (video is also available on Youtube)

The ease with which some of the LLM’s can be gaslighted confirms my disdain for the “I” in “AI”…

Read Full Post »