Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 1st, 2013

Remember the Apple Newton? I do, because I own a Newton 130. Ten years ago, I was impressed with the handwriting recognition of the Newton. But a few days ago I tried it again, and frankly it wasn’t that great. I would not be able to use the Newton in a meeting a work, at least not while writing on its screen!

Apple Newton 130 and Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1

Apple Newton 130 and Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1

The Samsung Tab 2 I’m using every day is not meant for handwriting recognition, but the combination of a Jot Pro pen and an app like Handrite (Lite) makes it possible to write down a few things in such a way that you can read it again later.

My handwriting on the screen of a Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1

My handwriting on the screen of a Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1

Reading the article “In Depth: 10 reasons why the S Pen beats touch on the Note 8.0” makes me a bit envious of the people who had the money to buy a Galaxy Note tablet. Having  the combination of a built-in Wacom digitizer, a good pen and the right software should make it possible to forget about virtual or real keyboards and use what we were taught in elementary school to input text: our own handwriting (I’ll try to get my hands on a Note for a few days, just to put my expectations to the test).

I guess the Galaxy Note series of tablets large and small shows that just using a pen as a sole input device is already possible, and I’m pretty sure we’ll see more of it in the years to come. Just make sure that yor children still learn how to write by hand!

Read Full Post »