Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 29th, 2015

Goodbye, Dr. Dobb’s!

Late in December came the news: “After 38 years of glory, the long run of Dr. Dobb’s has come to an end“. If you have been a software developer for say a decade or more, you must have read some of what was published by the Dr., either on paper or on the web. No?

I have known the paper magazine titled “Dr. Dobb’s Journal of Computer Calisthenics & Orthodontia” since the mid 1980’s. In those days, “Dr. Dobb’s” aka. DDJ, “Byte” and a UK magazine called “Computer Language” were my lecturers in computer hardware and software. I have mentioned Byte earlier; DDJ was special for its combination of hardcore programming and algorithm discussion (look up Allen Holub), along with a touch of humour in the column written by Michael Swaine.

The cover of DDJ, May 1988

The cover of DDJ, May 1988

I still have a single copy in my library: the May 1988 edition. But time goes on, so it’s goodbye, Dr. Dobb’s. I won’t forget you.

Read Full Post »