Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 30th, 2013

Many years ago, I was intrigued by an instrument on TV that was unlike any I had ever seen. You didn’t even have to touch it to make music! Later I learned about Leon Theremin and his 1928 invention, the ‘ætherphone‘ aka. ‘theremin‘. Here in Belgium the best known application of the theremin is probably the soundtrack of the detective series “The Midsummer Murders“.

Image:Francis Dzikowski/Esto

Image: Francis Dzikowski/Esto

Anyway, this article on the Wired website shows “12 Amazing Theremins That Look Like Chummy Robots“. Clearly, these are not just instruments but beautiful objects and a joy to look at. I have never tried playing a theremin, but these intriguing works of art make me think about buying one ;-)

If you haven’t seen what it’s like to play the theremin, check out this video to hear and see the theremin at work: “Celia Sheen plays Midsomer Murders on Theremin“.

Read Full Post »